Diwali: Significance of the 5-Day Festival, Dates & Puja Timings

Spread the love

Diwali is a five-day long festival that usually starts twenty days after Vijayadashami (tenth day of Dussehra) with Dhanteras, a tradition to welcome prosperity and happiness into people’s homes. It is followed by other customs such as Naraka Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali, Lakshmi Puja or Badi Diwali, Annakoot or Govardhan Puja, and Bhai Dooj. Read this piece for details about these customs and rituals.

Diwali is celebrated as a five-day long festival and it usually starts twenty days after Vijayadashami (tenth day of Dussehra). It begins with Dhanteras by welcoming prosperity and happiness into people’s homes. People clean their homes, declutter, get rid of unwanted things, whitewash the entire house, change the home décor, make and distribute sweets and savories amongst friends, colleagues, relatives, and loved ones.

Rashi | Moonsign

In the realm of constellations or Taramandal, the ecliptic, a great circle, is divided into twelve sectors known as Rashi or Zodiac. Each Rashi is linked to a specific sign, including Mesha (Aries), Vrishabha (Taurus), Mithuna (Gemini), Karka (Cancer), Simha (Leo), Kanya (Virgo), Tula (Libra), Vrishchika (Scorpio), Dhanu (Sagittarius), Makara (Capricorn), Kumbha (Aquarius), and Meena (Pisces).

Simply put, Rashi indicates the constellation or Nakshatra in which a planet is situated. For instance, if the Moon (Chandrama) is in Kumbha, then the corresponding Chandra Rashi is Kumbha; similarly, if the Sun (Surya) is in Makara, then the Surya Rashi is Makara.

In broader terms, Rashi typically refers to the Chandra Rashi or Moon sign. The Rashi or sign associated with the moon’s position at the time of birth is termed Rashi, Janma Rashi, or Chandra Rashi. Vedic astrology places greater significance on Rashi or Moon sign compared to the Sun sign or any other single point in the Kundali.

Don’t know your Moonsign / Rashi?


Error: Contact form not found.